Free Museum Fridays Museum of the Moving Image #Queens #Astoria

image

Museum Of The Museum Image, LIC

Museum of the Moving Image is the nation’s only museum dedicated to film, television, and digital media. With engaging exhibitions and a wide range of screening in the Redstone Theater and Bartos Screening Room, it is an inviting destination for all audiences. – Museum of the Moving Image.

Yes, I’m a Queens girl but born and raised in Manhattan. I’m still learning my way around this borough, trying to absorb as many fun places to explore. Now that I’m a mother to two very energetic and curious little girls, the last thing I want to do is be stuck at home with them. They push me more to get in the car and find fun places but fun can add up. My advice, try to take advantage of Free Fridays. Cost at times is the main reason I stay away but this was the perfect opportunity to take a trip and enjoy free Fridays. Free Friday begins at 4pm until closing. Try to get there early as it fills around 6pm.

I was thrilled to take a trip back into time as what is considered vintage to me but futuristic to my girls. Can you spot your TV set as a kid?

image

The girls were excited to see products used to paint the faces of familiar actors and characters. From vintage curling irons, rollers and makeup. These were things I grew up around. I felt old! But great being able to give brief descriptions on how they were used.

image

Portrait Photography is a wall dedicated to classic Hollywood actors. This truly captures a moment in time and the beauty in them all. My daughter’s quickly pointed out Shirley Temple and Lucille Ball.

image

Probably one of my favorite exhibits were the costumes used in the film Warriors and boxing gloves from Robert De Niro in Raging Bulls. How cool is this?

image

And there’s more. For the kid in you there is a Video Arcade. Classics from the past. Parents and children are able to use tokens and show off how cool we still are. I had to pry my 8 year old from Ms. PacMan. She great at it. She obviously gets that from me.

image

Museum of the Moving Image is located at:
36 – 01 35 Avenue, Astoria, NY 11106
718 – 777 – 6877

One thought on “Free Museum Fridays Museum of the Moving Image #Queens #Astoria

Leave a Reply

