Mommy's Night In, Thanksgiving

My 1st Thanksgiving

thanksgiving

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. This was my first time celebrating with my husband and our families in our NEW home. It was absolutely amazing! For someone who is a Pescetarian and has to cook for meat lovers,  I can actually throw down in the kitchen. I can’t taste test as I go, but I do use my Mommy senses and was able to nail it.

Being Latina helps! I was raised in a Puerto Rican home and grew up eating delicious Hispanic dishes made by my Abuelita, so with Caribbean influences and my Italian blood line, it definitely shows when I combine these two roots together.

Being the baby sister of two aspiring Chef’s, I’m always nervous to cook for them because I feel like I’m being judged by two Top Chefs. We all know that I’m a busy Mom and my idea of a fast dinner is a bag of frozen tortellini’s with Spaghetti Sauce, sprinkled with Parmesan Cheese and butter! I have a saying, ” I don’t do Chef, I do Mom” which basically means that I don’t get fancy unless there is a gathering.

Well, I was proud to show off my skills on Thanksgiving. Being that I don’t eat meat, all I could do was wait for everyone’s reaction. I kind of felt like a little kid again when my big sister praised my cooking. Even the little munchkins were going back for seconds.

So what did I whip up? For the entree, I decided on a basic Spanish style turkey,  which I brined 4 days before. Do you want the recipe? NEVER! LOL, I chose simple side dishes, such as garlic mashed potatoes, southern style baked macaroni and cheese, herbed seasoned stuffing and roasted asparagus. That’s actually small considering that I come from a large family.

I don’t know how my Abuelita did it!  My mother was the oldest of 5 girls and my father is the oldest of 8. Can you imagine cooking for your entire family? Yikes! Well, back to my dinner. I decided that my girlfriends should all surprise me and bring a sweet treat of their choice. My girlfriends bought everything from a pumpkin pie, lemon meringue cake, carrot cake, apple pie, brownies,  apple tarts and too much to type!

After Dinner we got some wood burning and started a fire in the pit, we sat around the fire and drank for hours while slowly devouring all of our desserts. I must say, being with my family and friends, talking about our
childhood memories, laughing, crying,  reminded me of how thankful I am for an amazing husband, our 5 children, my family and friends. I don’t need anything but the love of them to remind me how blessed I am. Happy Thanksgiving!

Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving.  W. T. Purkiser

Leave a Reply

