kids / New York City / Traveling with my family

5 Pointz Queens NYC

With the news of a New York City legendary Landmark 5 Pointz about to be demolished, I had to go and show my children the art life of graffiti and tell them my history about how hip hop music & graffiti impacted my life. I grew up in the upper west of Manhattan, where graffiti was on every train, hip hop music, fashion, and dancing was a part of what I saw and loved. I remember being a little girl and watching The Rock Steady Crew breaking dancing on cardboard boxes on the corner of my block. Old school Hip Hop will always be a part of life. The history and culture is a part of me. Although my children will never experience my childhood, it’s a great way for me to give them a tour into my life. Image

The name 5Pointz signifies the five boroughs coming together as one but, because of its reputation as an epicenter of the graffiti scene, the industrial complex has actually united aerosol artists from across the world. Legendary writers from Canada, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Japan, Brazil, and all over the United States have painted on the building walls, including Stay High 149, Tracy 168, Cope2, Part, SPE, and Tats Cru. – WikiPedia

ImageImageImage

Just keeping our fingers crossed that 5 Pointz remains in Queens.

Cost: Free

Address: 5 Pointz, Jackson Avenue at Crane Street and Davis Street, the whole block, Long Island City, NY 111011

3 thoughts on “5 Pointz Queens NYC

  1. Pingback: Meres goes to his Room – 5 Pointz / NYC Street Art | Streets Are Saying Things

  2. This is awesome. Thanks for sharing. It is sad to see the artwork painted over this morning. I could not see it yesterday morning as I was on a packed 7 train. I overheard that the owner of the building is going to leave 1 wall for the artists to come back and create their magic though the original will have a place in many peoples minds.

Leave a Reply

