Health / Moms / Parenting

How meditation helped me find balance in work/life @domainME #MEday

3citygirlsnyc

“To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one’s family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one’s own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him”. –  Buddha

How do you balance work and life when you’re a full time Wife and Mom. For me, not finding that balance had me in a whirlwind of emotions mixed with stress, anxiety and insomnia. A stressed out Mom is the one that is constantly googling the symptoms of a heart attack because it can feel like the world is against you.

I’m also “that Mom” that gets terrible road rage, twitches my leg in a waiting room and paces back and forth at pick up because I’m too busy worrying about the next thing on my to do list.

It came to the point where I just wanted to stay at home because I felt that it was way more “safer” then dealing with things that would trigger my next mood swing but then something astonishing happened. I went on a spiritual retreat to reconnect with myself and chase after my meaning of life. On this trip I fought my fear of heights as I climbed a 20 foot elevated mid-air rope course that featured 9 obstacles, including a 250 foot zip-line. I explored my self-awareness, trust, communication, acceptance and support. I evened pushed my fears deeper and went on the Leap of Faith, Walk The Plank, X-Factor, the weave and a tight rope. Talk about feeling like a warrior.

3citygirlsnyc

I was also challenged to conquer my fears on a 50 foot freestanding climbing structure! Between morning walks, yoga and mediation I was able to answer one of the biggest questions that seems to be a common denominator between other Moms.

A new study by domain. ME found that the majority of people (30%) make time for themselves only once or twice a year! Only 20% of people make time for themselves every three of four months, while most alarmingly 20% of people never take a ME day.

How do YOU balance your life?

  • Set goals! Take the time to plan your future. Create a vision board with your friends. Make a party out of it.
  • Acknowledge the areas in your life that need to be worked on and if you can, remove the people in your life that are causing you stress.
  • Stay connected with the people who are going to motive and inspire you.
  • Understand that without self happiness there is no happiness.
  • Balance your time with family and friends and most importantly make time  for yourself!

Do You Know Why Achieving Work/Life Balance Is So Hard? Check out the survey results from Domain .Me here.

Instead of looking down constantly on your phone. Look up! No matter the weather, be mindful of all the beauty around us.

3citygirlsnyc

Me “letting go” and running wild surrounded by nature.

3citygirlsnyc

The sound of water puts me in a meditative state almost immediately.

3citygirlsnyc

Resting after grounding my feet into the sand.

3citygirlsnyc

Did you know that domain .Me created a “ME Day”.  A day dedicated to putting yourself on a Mommy time out! Join me on March 16th, 2015 for a little self appreciation. How will you spend your day? Tweet your answer using the #MEday hashtag!

Lets stay social. Follow domain .Me on social media Facebook + Twitter + Pinterest

*Disclosure:  “This post was sponsored by domain .ME; however, all thoughts and opinions are my own.”

Leave a Reply

