Brooklyn, Moms Night Out, Things to do in NYC

Painting with a Twist! A Mom’s Night out in Brooklyn!

 photo PhotoGrid_1444797191836_zpspgg5xqld.jpg

Just because I’m a Mom doesn’t necessarily mean that I can no longer have fun! I have a lot of spunk left in me for a fun night out on the town. When Painting with a Twist invited me for a Bloggers Night Out, I knew I had to get a sitter, gather up the girls and head down to the trendy hipster section of Cobble Hill Brooklyn.

 photo PhotoGrid_1444797431816_zpsluu0uc9z.jpg

I was worried about street parking but to my surprise there was plenty of parking and even better that it was after 7 pm so technically parking was free. No need to feed the meter.

When I opened the doors at 228 Smith Street I was immediately greeted by the friendliest staff members who offered to hang my bag and coat. Although I was 40 minutes late, the Art Instructor was enthusiastic and made sure I caught up to speed asking me frequently if I needed help, and boy did I need all the help I could get.

 photo PhotoGrid_1444797855906_zpsk5e2g8xo.jpg

The wine was served in red and white plus, I even spotted a bottle of Champagne for those who prefer the bubbly. I was a little nervous about painting next to a stranger but after a glass of wine we all became friends, talking in between brush strokes and even exchanging Instagram handles.

The music was great playing songs from Biggie Smalls, Alicia Keys, and even Motown! a group of us were even caught singing and dancing along and trust me when I say it was encouraged. The atmosphere is fun and live just the way a night out should be. I loved how the staff made sure all of our needs were met from changing our brushes, water and even adjusting our painting aprons.

After learning how to paint for the first time on canvas, I left feeling more confident about my art skills. Would I go back? Absolutely!

 photo PhotoGrid_1444797736655_zpsamtgjazw.jpg

Painting with a Twist sessions is perfect for a Girls Night Out, a birthday party or any reason to celebrate something fun!

Starting Bid for my painting is $1,000,000.00 ( I kid )

About

Corks N Canvas was started in 2007 by Cathy Deano and Renee Maloney in Mandeville, Louisiana. The concept pairs instructional art with friends, wine and a lively instructor to produce individual works of art. With four locations in the Greater New Orleans Area, the company began franchising the business under the mark Painting with a Twist® in 2009. To date, 246 franchise locations are open all over the country. Headquartered in Mandeville, Louisiana the company maintains the artwork copyrights and brand direction of the franchise locations to insure that every location produces the same fun experience by which the company was founded.

*Disclosure: I was invited as media to attend the Bloggers Night Out. As always, any personal opinions reflected in this post are of my own and have not been influenced in any way.

Leave a Reply

