American Girl / Girls / Momtrends

Girl Talk with American Girl & Momtrends @American_Girl #AGGirlTalk

 photo PhotoGrid_1446043994805_zps3quldxtu.jpg

How many times have you heard another parent say ” I wish motherhood came with a manual! “? I have to admit that I’ve been there and I’m still going there!

As if being a Mom isn’t hard enough. Now I’m dealing with my girls going through puberty? there are just so many physical and emotional changes, I don’t how my Mom dealt with my raging hormones. Sometimes I don’t really want to turn to another adult because I tend to feel “ it’s only me that’s going through this right? ”  I’m seeking the advice from a professional and finally there’s a go-to guide for moms and daughters discussing what’s really going on with tweens these days.

At a recent Momtrends event: American Girl Breakfast & interactive book discussion,  we sat with the best-selling author of the new advice collection, Dr. Cara Natterson and got pretty personal as we discussed topics that many adolescent girls face growing up today.
 photo PhotoGrid_1446044097813_zpssozzeabc.jpg

The Care & Keeping of Us: A Sharing Collection for Girls and Their Moms really gets the conversation going from discussions on healthy habits, crushes, family, social media and more! I truly felt that these topics were spot on.

This past Saturday my daughter turned 10 years old. The double digits! she sat on my bed and as I read the How-to-say-it book for Moms, she read the How-to-say-it book for girls. I used the Social Shifts scripts to help me navigate and respond to issues that I am currently dealing with. From friends to peer pressure and even bullying, the topics surrounding puberty can be difficult and often uncomfortable to discuss. We really loved filling out the keepsake journal that was filled with journaling and sharing tips. A great way for Moms and daughters to get to know each other more. Let’s keep the conversation going and get your book today!

Kit includes The Care & Keeping of Us: A How-To-Say-It Book for Girls, The Care & Keeping of Us: A How-To-Say-It Book for Moms, andThe Care & Keeping of Us: A Book for Girls and Their Moms to Share.Authors: Dr. Cara Natterson and Emma MacLaren Henke. Ages 8+

The Care & Keeping of Us is available now at americangirl.com and can also be purchased through retail and online booksellers.

*Disclosure: I was invited as media to attend this event. As always, any personal opinions reflected in this post are of my own and have not been influenced in any way. Thank you to American Girl and Momtrends for an insightful morning!

One thought on “Girl Talk with American Girl & Momtrends @American_Girl #AGGirlTalk

Leave a Reply

