Beauty / fitness / Gadgets / Lifestyle / Reviews

Beauty Goal for 2016? Sleep! @beddit

 photo 20160103_212114_zpsbf6ssvbw.jpg

I’ve had sleep issues for as far back as I can remember and although I can cut out the obvious things in my lifestyle such as caffeine (not happening) to help me get back on a healthy sleeping track, I needed something that was going to motivate me to get some zzz’s.

I’ve tried several wearable sleep trackers in the past, specifically to track my sleep and not my steps but being a forgetful Mom with 2 children and a baby on the way, I often found myself leaving my tracker on the bathroom sink. As a matter of fact I actually lost my tracker sending out my laundry.  This is why I LOVE the Beddit Sleep Monitor. It’s not going anywhere!

 photo 20160103_212610_zpsdnylbvth.jpg

So, you’re probably wondering how the Beddit Sleep Monitor works? it works by sticking across your mattress. Simply remove the adhesive tape along the sensor, lay it snug across your side of the mattress and plug it in. It’s that simple. I’ve been using my monitor for about a month and the tape is still holding firm. Although I do co-sleep with my youngest daughter, I have not had a problem with my readings since it rest just below my chest area and not the center of the bed where my daughter sleeps. It’s super thin and super light so I don’t feel a thing.

 photo 20160103_212229_zpsli1bxw6h.jpg

(Thin monitor strip right under my sheet!)

 

After downloading the free Beddit Sleep Monitor app onto my Android device, I was able to set an alarm for the morning and once tucked into bed begin tracking my sleep. Days into tracking my sleep I realized why I’m so sluggish in the morning! my resting heart rate isn’t so restful, which is accurate because I recently had a sleep study and the results are the same, and I’m only in true deep sleep for no more than 3 hours. Also, you can choose to share your sleep, heart rate and respiration data to Apple Health which is great if you’re trying to figure out sleep solutions with your doctor.

 photo Screenshot_2016-01-04-06-36-34-1_zps3sz8efrs.png

With this new information about my sleep, I was able to completely turn my bedroom into a Zen area and I’m working on getting my sleep number up into the upper 90’s and not into the teens! (tracker has an intuitive scale that goes from 0 to 100) and Mom’s  you’re going to appreciate the Beddit Sleep Monitor alarm clock. The thin strip that monitors your sleep actually shakes you awake!

Features:

-Smart-measuring (iOS-only)
-Sleep quality
-Total sleep time
-Time to fall asleep
-Sleep efficiency
-Heart rate
-Respiration
-Sleep cycles
-Snoring
-Bed exits
-Restless sleep indicator

Platforms:

-iOS
-Apple Health supported on iOS8
-Android

In the end, the Beddit Sleep Monitor compared to other sleep trackers wins. I found this device making me much more aware of my sleep and pushing me towards a healthier sleep lifestyle. I love that my husband and I can take turns tracking our sleep, making it our goal to get our family back on track.

 

 

Disclosure: I received a Beddit Sleep Monitor for the purpose of a review. As always, all thoughts and opinions expressed here are of my own.  Beddit is not a medical device and should not be used to diagnose or treat any medical conditions. Consult your doctor for prevention, diagnosis and treatment. Beddit® is a registered trademark of Beddit Ltd. Patented, patents pending.

 

Leave a Reply

